Once People Get to Know Me, They Like Me

“Once people get to know me, they like me.”  – Neil Postman

How often do you make a real connection with people you meet in your business day? When was the last time a client or vendor made eye contact, shook your hand and earned your trust?

I make a point to do this every day. It’s part of my philosophy about treating people the way I want to be treated. I’m not a salesperson and I don’t push people but I do help run a business and I have to ask for business all the time. How do you do this without scaring people away?

I think you build trust. In person, I do this by making eye contact, shaking hands, listening and asking lots of questions. I like people and I like helping the people I work with.

Online, though, this is a lot harder. How do you connect with someone if you can’t make eye contact with them? How do you build trust if you can’t sit down in their office and learn more about them?

Is it possible to build trust online in 140 characters or less???

What do you think?

2 responses to “Once People Get to Know Me, They Like Me

  1. Yes, I do believe that you can build trust through social media. Personally I like to join as many conversations as possible. I like to read messages on Twitter, LinkedIn and blogs and learn a great deal from individuals I have never met in person. When I have something of value to share I add my comments and start a conversation. Trust isn’t immediate. It takes time but it’s worth it!

  2. I agree – trust takes time to build and you have to stick with it. You might be surprised at how much you will get out of relationships with people you meet online.

Leave a Reply

