Your Business Card Sucks

O M G!!!

A friend sent me this video of a ‘business card expert’ and I almost fell out of my chair. Take a look and read on:

Vodpod videos no longer available.

I print a lot of business cards and I can tell you that following this guy’s advice is not a good idea!

Here are some really important things to keep in mind when you design or print your business cards:

1. Use heavy stock – don’t skimp on paper stock. Use good quality stock. When a customer holds your card in their hand, a heavier card simply makes a much better impression and like all things in life, you only have one chance to make a first impression.

2. Beware of coated card stocks. I always recommend using a stock that you can write on. Most people write on cards or scribble last minute notes and numbers. Get a sample and try writing on it – you’ll save you and your customer some unnecessary frustration.

3. Despite this guy’s idea that he is too important to fit into a rolodex, some people still use them so sticking with a standard size card is a good idea.

4. Don’t forget the back side of your business card! That is valuable real estate and everyone who gets your card will look at both sides. The best tip I’ve heard on what to put on the back is to print a coupon or promotion that a customer can use. People respond really well to these in today’s down economy and its a quick and easy way to make sure your card is sticky.

5. Make sure you include social media links to twitter, linkedin, your blog and even facebook. I’m doing more and more business that way and it is the way of the future.

As a last tip, I like the 3-foot rule: if you represent a company or do some type of sales, make sure that anyone who comes within 3 feet of you gets a business card. They are the least expensive marketing brochure you can purchase so use them!

If you want a quote on cards, give me a call. I can help you avoid looking like this guy!

Angie Ryan

615-509-3192

www.prnashville.com

3 responses to “Your Business Card Sucks

  1. I love the 3 foot rule! We now add our social networking links and it works. After I receive a business card I input all the contact information into my blackberry and then pop the card into my old school rolodex 🙂

  2. I didn’t know that WWE’s Vince McMahon grew hair and started smackdown on other’s business cards.

    What’s next? Donald Trum taking on direct mail?

  3. Love your great ideas,specially about adding social media info. Are you offering recycled card stock and soy inks?

Leave a Reply

